DIY Postpartum Padsicles

padsiclesQuick DIY project today:  Padsicles.  Otherwise known as heaven.

These are apparently a god-send for caring for your postpartum lady bits.  They are a combo of aloe gel or juice, witch hazel, and essential oils which are then frozen and applied…..ahem…..*down there* following birth.

I knew I wanted to make them, and searched out a few recipes online for inspiration – but in the end, kind of winged it (wung it?) based on what I had on hand.  I probably used more solution on each pad than most of the recipes I’ve seen…..but I wanted mine to really freeze up, for extra soothing power.

I made about 15 HUGE pads (seriously – I had no idea they made these so big….I’m sure these will wrap from my belly button to the middle of my back), and used about 2 cups of witch hazel/aloe solution.

Witch Hazel is one of my favourite things when it comes to natural skin care ingredients.  It’s an amazing toner, it has cooling and soothing properties, reduces inflammation, and can be used for any number of skin issues including acne, burns, irritation, bruises, or even treating hemorrhoids and varicose veins.

Anyway, here’s my recipe:

  • 1 1/3 cup alcohol free witch hazel
  • 2/3 cup aloe juice (I used juice because I don’t like the gel….if you’ve got gel, use that – it’s fine to use either)
  • 30 drops lavender essential oil*
  • 30 drops of frankincense essential oil*

*30 drops of essential oil in this amount of liquid = a dilution of oils that is less than half a percent….which is very little.  (safe usage can be up to 3% – and we’re nowhere near that, because I didn’t want to chance irritating the sensitive skin in this area)

Mix all together in a glass measuring cup – you will have about 2 cups of liquid.  Stir well, but know that your oils will sit on top.  You’ll have to stir each time you make a new pad.

Next, unwrap your pads carefully (choose whatever kind you like best – but know that overnight/heavy flow pads are probably your best bet), and pour a little of the mixture over each pad, then re-wrap.  I was very free in my pouring…..you don’t need to measure this unless you are someone who is way more organized than I am.  😉

Once done, put in a freezer bag and freeze your padsicles for future use.

Save

Save

Save

Leave a comment